In developing the OWOW Integrated Regional Water Management (IRWM) plan for the Santa Ana River Watershed, a decided “bottom up” approach was envisioned for governance, as opposed to a “top down” approach.  The core of this approach was that, unlike previous SAWPA IRWM plans or other IRWM planning approaches across the State, every effort was made to allow the key discussions of major water resource issues, concerns, problems, goals and objectives, and potential solutions to originate and be fully vetted at the stakeholder level first.  By expanding the involvement and collaboration of stakeholders at the “on-the-ground” level, it was possible to incorporate the deeper understanding of local issues afforded by stakeholders, and generate greater buy-in and support. [tab name=’Steering Committee’]

Click on a representative’s name to read a short biography. 

County Supervisor Representatives

Shawn Nelson
Orange County
Marion Ashley
Riverside County
James Ramos
San Bernardino County 
County Mayor Representatives

Beth Krom
City of Irvine

Ron Loveridge
City of Riverside

Patrick Morris
City of San Bernardino
Santa Ana Watershed Project Authority Representatives

Ron Sullivan

Don Galleano

Patrick Morris
City of San Bernardino
Business Community Representative

Ali Sahabi
Optimum Group, LLC
Environmental Community Representative

Garry Brown
Orange County Coastkeeper
Regional Water Control Board Representative

Linda Ackerman

[tab name=’Committee Meetings’]

July 10  Agenda Packet 
May 15 Agenda Packet 
April 3 Agenda Packet
January 16 Agenda Packet 
September 26 Agenda Packet
March 28 Agenda Packet 
December 13 Agenda Packet
November 27 Agenda Packet
July 19 Agenda Packet
May 17 Agenda Packet
March 15 Agenda Packet
January 19 Agenda Packet
November 18 Agenda Packet

[tab name=’Pillars’]

 OWOW 2.0 Pillars 

Water Resource Optimization – (Rick Whetsel)*

1. Robert Tincher

2. Mark Tettemer 

Beneficial Use Assurance – (Rick Whetsel)*

3. Greg Woodside

4. Mark Adelson 

Water Use Efficiency – (Rick Whetsel)*

5. Pam Pavela

6. Gail Covey

Land Use and Water Planning – (Mark Norton)*

7. Susan Lien-Longville

8. Jerry Blum

Stormwater: Resource and Risk Management – (Larry McKenney)*

9. Maryanne Skorpanich

10. Stewart McKibben

Natural Resources Stewardship – (Mark Norton)*

11. Lee Reeder

12. Nancy Gardner

Operational Efficiency and Water Transfers – (Mark Norton)*

13. Behrooz Mortazavi

14. Craig Miller

Disadvantaged and Tribal Community – (Mark Norton)*

15. Maria Elena Kennedy

16. Leslie Cleveland

Government Alliance – (Mark Norton)*

17. Eileen Takata

18. Jack Simes

Energy and Environmental Impact Response – (Mark Norton)*

19. Roy Herndon

20. Craig Perkins


*SAWPA staff contact


For further information about this project, please contact Mark Norton
Email: First name initial last name